Why We Homeschool

A Calling and a Privilege
Sometimes like any other moms i also doubt my insanity to ever take this decision of homeschooling for our children ( who doesn’t? ) and it happened more than once.
Now, don’t worry, it’s normal 🙂
That’s why i wrote all these reasons of why we homeschool, since i found it helpful to encourage myself. I need to write this to remind me of how we ever made the decision in the first place, and to hang on toughly.
The Calling
I believe that my family was called to do it. Ever since i read Deuteronomy 4:9 which says “Only be careful, and watch yourselves closely so that you do not forget the things your eyes have seen or let them slip from your heart as long as you live. Teach them to your children and to their children after them.” and Deuteronomy 6:5-7 “Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.” I know that was it. The calling. For me.
God has given me those precious children, together with the responsibility to do what is right for them, and He is holding me accountable for the way I do that job. Why am I giving it to someone else?
I wander how am I to teach my children when we sit at home, when we walk along the road, when we lie down and when we get up if my children were gone all day ? How am i going to impress them in their heart if they are not with me during everyday ordinary life? ( Later i know ordinary daily life gives me best opportunities to teach my children valuable lessons they couldn’t get if they’re only sitting in a classroom filled with same-aged children as them ).

The privilege
The followings are the next other reasons of why we homeschool : I CAN BE with my loved ones most of the time, in the most comfort place in the world called HOME, watching them grow and learn! ( without rushing from one homework to another, or worrying about tomorrow exams! ;p ). As parents I can control over my children’s education and everything they are learning, even I can individualize our children’s education ( children all learn differently and should be allowed to learn differently ), I can get to know each of my children better, I can teach through real life learning and living books, I don’t need to worry about peer pressure or bullying, I can have freedom to decide our own schedule.
School ( nowadays, in my place. I hope it will change someday. ) will only left us with so little time to be in a rush to prepare for its next day, not to mention all of the courses outside school, both me and the kids would be physically and emotionally tired. That’s just not what I wanted. I wanted to share our family life values with them and build a more meaningful relationship with me as their parents instead of learning all those academic things i believe they can catch up later when they’re older.
But my time with them is too short, they will soon grow up as time flies so quickly. I don’t want to regret things when they’ve passed, so I am blessed to have this opportunity to be with them while they’re still in home.
An Extra Bonus
And to me, this is the best part of it 🙂 we don’t need to get up too early to fight with the traffic just to arrive at school on time.
But most of all, I can have a peace of mind, knowing that I am walking in God’s calling for my family. “You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk about them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down , and when you rise up.” – Deuteronomy 6:7
Have you ever doubt your insanity when deciding to homeschool ? 🙂
Why do you homeschool ? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Why We Homeschool

  1. YES!!!I have doubted my sanity many times during our at this point relatively short homeschool journey. That being said, my kids get to be kids. When school is done for the day, it is done. No homework. We get to learn when we want to learn. My husband has Wednesday and Thursday off, so we do school on the weekends and take Wednesday and Thursdays as our days off of school. The time we get as a family is precious.

    Like

Leave a comment